Monday, February 21, 2011

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins...

Series: The Hunger Games (Book #1)
Published: January 5th 2009 by Scholastic
Pages: 454
Rating: 5 stars
Age Recommendation: -
 
Synopsis:
 
Winning will make you famous.
Losing means certain death.

In a dark vision of the near future, a terrifying reality TV show is taking place. Twelve boys and twelve girls are forced to appear in a live event called the Hunger Games. There is only one rule: kill or be killed.

When sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen steps forward to take her sister's place in the games, she sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature.
 
Review:
 
I already knew what happened in this book before I actually finally picked it up and read it, but that didn't make the book any less suspensful for me. I found myself not wanting to put it down, especially when The Hunger Games actually started. I found the lead upto the games to be a little bit slow, but I still found it quite interesting to see how much time they put into making over and  prepearing the tributes for the games. I thought the writing style in this book was amazing and I also found that the main characters in this book have been writen extremely well. Overall I thought this was an amazing start to what is sure to be an amazing series.

Saturday, February 12, 2011

The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa...

Series: Iron Fey (Book #3)
Published: January 25th 2011 by Harlequin Teen
Pages: 358
Rating: 5 stars
Age Recommendation: -
 
Synopsis:
 
My name is Meghan Chase. I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who's sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I'm not sure anyone can survive it.
This time, there will be no turning back.


Review:

Julie Kagawa has definitley done it again with this book. I found this book to be highly entertaining and never wanting to put it down. I found myself loving the charcters even more in this book just because you got to know them a lot better thoughout the book and got to know a little bit more about their personalities and how they think which I thought was really great. Also I found the new characters introduced in the book to be as equally entertaining, I especially liked the character of Razor, I think I found his character the most entertaining out of all of the new characters we are introduced to in the book because they have always been shown as a nuisance but with Meghan being able to hear what they are saying you find that they are very loyal to their Master and really just want to please whoever is incharge. Overall I found this book to be highly entertaining and I am really looking foward to the next book which is going to be from Ash's perspective.

The Iron Knight (Iron Fey #4) due to release November 2011 by  Harlequin Teen

Friday, February 11, 2011

Succubus Shadows by Richelle Mead...

Series: Georgina Kindcaid (Book #5)
Published: March 30th 2010 by Bantam Books
Pages: 356
Rating: 5 stars
Age Recommendation: 16+ (Due to graphic scenes)
Synopsis:
Georgina Kincaid has formidable powers. Immortality, seduction, shape-shifting into any human form she desires, walking in heels that would cripple mere mortals child's play to a succubus like her.

Helping to plan her ex-boyfriend s wedding is a different story. Georgina isn't sure which is worse that he's marrying another woman or that she's having to run around trying on bridesmaid dresses. Still, there are distractions. Thanks to her roommate, her apartment's crackling with sexual tension plus there's Simone, the new succubus in town who seems intent on corrupting Georgina's soon-to-be-wed ex.

But the real danger lies in the mysterious force that's taken to visiting Georgina's thoughts. It s trying to draw her into a dark, frightening, otherworldly realm and there's going to come a point when she won't be able to resist. And when that happens, she's going to discover who she can trust, who she can't and that there are far worse places than Hell in which to spend eternity.
Review:
For me this book was probably the weakest in the series, and I know that a lot of people will agree. Even though I found this book still entertaining I found the storyline of this book to be very dragging and depressing. I also really did not like the character of Simone and found that she continually annoyed me thoughout the book. But there were some positives about the book I found that by reliving some of Georgina's past you got to know more about her as a person and how she is like she is in the present day of the novels. You also get to find out the answer to the big question that is raised in Succubus Dreams and even though it was predictable it was still the outsome I was hoping for. Overall even though I thought this book was the weakest in the series I still found it entertaining and would still suggest you read it as you get to see more of Georgina's past, and although I know that some people would have been put off finishing the series because of this book, I still am really looking faward to reading the next and final installment of this series.

Succubus Revealed (Geogina Kincaid #6) due to release August 30th by Kensington (US Edition) according to Goodreads.

Succubus Heat by Richelle Mead...

Series: Georgina Kindcaid (Book #4)
Published: June 4th 2009 by Bantam Books
Pages: 512
Rating: 5 stars
Age Recommendation: 16+ (Due to graphic scenes)

Synopsis:
Georgina Kincaid has been a bad, bad succubus...

…which should be a good thing. But lately, thanks to her foul mood over breaking up with bestselling writer Seth Mortensen, she’s been so wicked that Seattle’s ├╝ber-demon Jerome, decides to “outsource” Georgina to a rival—and have her spy for him in the process.

Being exiled to the frozen north—okay, Vancouver—and leaving Seth in the cozy clutches of his new girlfriend is unpleasant enough. Then Jerome is kidnapped, and all immortals under his control mysteriously lose their powers. One bright spot: with her life-sucking ability gone, there’s nothing to keep Georgina from getting down and dirty with Seth—nothing apart from his girlfriend that is. Now, as the supernatural population starts turning on itself, a newly mortal Georgina must rescue her boss and figure out who’s been playing them—or all hell will break loose.

Review:

This book would have to be my favourite book in the series along with the first book. I thought that the storyline in the book was genious and the major twist in the book involving all of Seattles Hell-employed immortals was amazing and really made the book the best in the series for me. I also loved the idea of Georgina outsourced. It gave you a bit more insight into how the higher immortals ran their city and I thought that was really interesting and helped to inhance the book even more. Overall I thought this book was AMAZING and is definitley a must-read.

Monday, February 7, 2011

Succubus Dreams by Richelle Mead...

Series: Georgina Kindcaid (Book #3)
Published: December 4th 2008 by Bantam Books
Pages: 448
Rating: 5 stars
Age Recommendation: 16+ (Due to graphic scenes)

Synopsis:
Some days, a girl just can't catch a break ... especially when the girl in question is Georgina Kincaid, a shape-shifting succubus who gets her energy from seducing men. First there's her relationship with gorgeous bestselling writer Seth Mortensen, which is unsatisfying on a number of levels. It's not just that they can't have sex in case Georgina inadvertently kills him (generally a turn-off for most guys). Lately, even spending time together is a challenge. Seth's obsessed with finishing his latest novel, and Georgina's under demonic orders to mentor the new (and surprisingly inept) succubus on the block.

Then there are the dreams. Someone, or something, is preying on Georgina at night, draining her energy, and supplying eerie visions of her future. Georgina seeks answers from Dante, a dream interpreter with ties to the underworld, but his flirtatious charm only leaves her more confused-especially as the situation with Seth reaches crisis point. Now Georgina faces a double challenge-rein in her out-of-control love life, and go toe-to-toe with an enemy capable of wreaking serious havoc among mankind. Otherwise, Georgina, and the entire mortal world, may never sleep easy again

Review:
.I thought the storyline in this book was amazing. I thought that the dream that Georgina was having and her longing for that dream to be able to come true just showed how much she wished the impossible could actually happen. I also liked the mystery in this book surrounding the dream. But I didn't really like the character of Dante, I found him to be quite annouying. But overall I thought this book was really entertaining and it is definitley worth the read.

Saturday, February 5, 2011

Succubus Nights by Richelle Mead...

Series: Georgina Kindcaid (Book #2)
Published: May 5th 2008 by Bantam Books
Pages: 480
Rating: 5 stars
Age Recommendation: 16+ (Due to graphic scenes)
 
Synopsis:
 
Georgina Kincaid’s job sucks. Literally.

Love hurts, and no one knows it better than Georgina Kincaid. If she so much as kisses her new boyfriend, she’ll drain his life force. Georgina is a succubus—a demon who draws her power from other men’s pleasure. Admittedly, the shapeshifting and immortality perks are terrific, and yes, Georgina did choose to join the ranks of hell centuries ago. But it seems completely unfair that a she-demon whose purpose is seduction can’t get hot and heavy with the one mortal who knows and accepts her for who she is.

It’s not just her personal life that’s in chaos. Doug, Georgina’s co-worker at a local bookstore, has been exhibiting bizarre behavior, and Georgina suspects that something far more demonic than double espressos is at work. She could use help finding out, but Bastien, an irresistibly charming incubus and her best immortal friend, is preoccupied in the suburbs with corrupting an ultra-conservative talk radio star—and giving Georgina some highly distracting come-hither vibes. Georgina is going to have to work solo on this one—and fast because soon, Doug’s life won’t be the only one on the line.
 
Review:
 
I thought this book was just as strong as the last in the series, it followed Georgina's story very well and it was very entertaining. Like the previous novel Succubus Blues I loved how Richelle Mead has written the characters so they seem for the most part human, I really didn't like the character of Dana, though I'm guessing that was the intention of Mead, I thought that her character was completley closed minded, though there was a very big twist at the end which I was not expecting at all. Overall I thought that this book was a very strong edition to the series and it is definitley worth reading.
 
 

Succubus Blues by Richelle Mead...

Series: Georgina Kindcaid (Book #1)
Published: August 1st 2007 by Bantam Books
Pages: 496
Rating: 5 stars
Age Recommendation: 16+
 
Synopsis:
 
Succubus (n.) An alluring, shape-shifting demon who seduces and pleasures mortal men. Pathetic (adj.) A succubus with great shoes and no social life. See: Georgina Kincaid.
When it comes to jobs in hell, being a succubus seems pretty glamorous. A girl can be anything she wants, the wardrobe is killer, and mortal men will do anything just for a touch. Granted, they often pay with their souls, but why get technical?

But Seattle succubus Georgina Kincaid's life is far less exotic. Her boss is a middle-management demon with a thing for John Cusack movies. Her immortal best friends haven't stopped teasing her about the time she shape-shifted into the Demon Goddess getup complete with whip and wings. And she can't have a decent date without sucking away part of the guy's life. At least there's her day job at a local bookstore--free books; all the white chocolate mochas she can drink; and easy access to bestselling, sexy writer, Seth Mortensen, aka He Whom She Would Give Anything to Touch but Can't.

But dreaming about Seth will have to wait. Something wicked is at work in Seattle's demon underground. And for once, all of her hot charms and drop-dead one-liners won't help because Georgina's about to discover there are some creatures out there that both heaven and hell want to deny...

"What an incredible debut novel! Succubus Blues is exciting, witty, sexy, intriguing and had me captivated from the first page." --Cheyenne McCray, author of Seduced by Magic
 
Review:
 
I thought that this book was completley AMAZING (to be honest amazing doesn't even say how great I thought this book was) and it being Richelle Mead's debut novel just makes this book even better for me, the writing in this book flows so well it seems like she has been a published author for years. The main thing that I love about this book series in the writing style, just like the Vampire Academy series she has made the characters seem human. The other thing I loved about this book was the love triangle between Georgina, Seth and Roman. There is also definitley a few twists in this book that I really didn't see coming which made this book really good aswell. I also loved the character of Georgina herself, her witty humour always entertained me. The age recommendation is there for a reason however, some senes in this book are quite graphic  as this book was written for the audience of adults, but if you are 16 or older I think you should be able to handel this series. Overall I though this book was an amazing debut for Richelle Mead and a really strong start to what looks like a really entertaining series.